2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

Teasels by the Thames

Went for a 6.6 mile walk along the Thames from Sonning to Shiplake and back this morning. Very warm for January but very, very muddy underfoot. We had intended doing a circular route but hadn't realised that the only way to cross back over the river was to illegally use the railway bridge (done by all the young'uns according to a dog-walker). We decided not to risk life and limb and just go back the way we'd come.

I took my new Christmas monopod to try out but unfortunately had not picked up my newly charged spare camera battery. I managed 8 shots before the old one died.

Lots of birds around, mallards, geese, swans, crows, wrens, red kites, jays, magpies and, surprisingly, some ring-necked parakeets. I've seen these before closer to Windsor, but didn't realise they were so close to home.

Just got back in time, it has been a grey, wet and miserable New Year's afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.