Me and Max

By grete

New Beginnings

Sitting snugly in the sofa with a glass of wine I am contemplating this photo found on my walk earlier today. I was attracted to the boy as soon as I saw him. Now I am trying to figure out why.

Trying to figure out why is perhaps the reason I photograph. Though a lousy blipper, photography is still a passion. I ask myself why all the time. Earlier today, while reading an interview with the eminent photographer Donata Wenders, I realized something of the why.

Finding photographs is a way of talking with God. A prayer if you like. A conversation.

Being part of creation, I am also the creator. By ceaselessly mirroring the external in the internal as well as expressing out what is in, something new is born continuously. It is all very obvious and mysterious at the same time.

When I saw the little boy looking up at those tall, towering adults, something was mirrored in me. I was that small person looking up at an overwhelming world. At the same time I realized the excitement inherent in the future.

So where do I chose to place my focus? Do I want to be that small person in a world of giants? Or do I want to concentrate on the excitement of the possibilities ahead?

For now, I chose the latter (Being human, my steps are sometimes wobbly :-)
Being the first day of the year, I dedicate this picture to New Beginnings.


Wishing you all a happy, prosperous and exciting New Year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.