Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Best New Year's Party Ever!

Spent the shank of the day at a New Year's brunch at the home of my friends Laurie and Terri, who is a new Blipper. They said to come in pajamas and bring food and a story to share. What could be a better idea? I don't own any pajamas, so I just wore my usual baggy comfortable clothes, but it was the best party I've ever been to. I didn't feel a bit shy, which usually kicks in for me at parties. I think it's because it was such a relaxed, friendly, gentle atmosphere, and the food was so delicious (the hit of the whole party was the Swedish pancake full of custard and pears). Such stories! Each one cracked my heart open a little wider.

This is Jala (her partner made that Swedish pancake). Jala is expecting her first grandchild in May and is beginning to collect pictures and stories for this person on the way. Jala comes from Atlanta, and she spent years working with prisoners in an alcohol and drug rehab program, still works in that field but not currently in the prisons. She was wearing pajama bottoms and a T-shirt and sweater: an iconic T-shirt. It's the Angela Davis of 1971, the picture of Angela Davis that all the people I knew had hanging in their apartments in the 70s, usually right next to the one of Che Guevara. The contrast between Davis's serious face and Jala's joyful face says something to me of the difference between how serious we all were in the 70s, and how much we have learned to lighten up since then. Angela Davis herself has aged wonderfully and now wears an elder's smile more often than not.

When I got home I discovered another surprise: another good friend has just joined Blip. Her screen name is Evergreengirl, she lives in Washington State, and she is a truly brilliant photographer, animal lover, gardener, and plant expert who writes well and has been an inspiration to me. I found her on Flickr a few years ago, then met her and her husband in person and discovered how much we have in common. They are very close neighbors of LocalFoodLover and her husband Pilipo. Please welcome Evergreengirl to Blip, and expect to see a truly fine journal if we can hold her interest here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.