A lunch time paddle, or two

Today started much more sedately than yesterday; no younger generation here to wake me up. Looked out at the clouds and the greyness, and decided to defer my run until later in the day. Various household chores later and it was after midday and close to high tide.

Headed out for a run taking in part of the walkway above the beach. Even more people out and about than there were early yesterday (when I blipped a heron). The first picture I took on my run was this one. I spied this pair of paddlers approaching, and looked for a good vantage point. Found it behind two pohutukawa, on the beach side of which three deck chairs had been set up to permit the users a comfortable seat for lunch. Out of the sun, which actually didn't break through the clouds until much later in the afternoon.

Further on in this run, I circled around to take in a bit of Algies Bay, and there was another paddler, sitting on a surf skiff with a young lad nearer the bow, paddling back towards the shore.

After a very tasty lunch prepared for us by J, I started the one outstanding report, getting a large part done before taking a break which will last until tomorrow. Can't send it off until Wednesday anyway. After a lovely dinner I tried to photograph some fantails (Piwakawaka is the Maori name), only for them to flee in their game of chase me. Then a tui; lost in the branches. Finally, the sunset. Lovely, but ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.