Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

An Extra Mile

Timing my run to the bay to catch a sunrise is not easy. The newspaper showed sunrise as being 0845, but when I arrived at the bay shortly after this the sky was black and a sleety shower arrived from the North West. No chance of a blip so I kept on running along the beach, which is a mile long. By the time I reached the far end and turned around the clouds were beginning to break and small patches of blue sky appeared.

Running back along the beach into the chilly wind was hard and I kept hoping the sun would appear so I could stop! No such luck however and when I got to the start of the beach another shower came on. I stopped and waited to see if it would clear, but it was too cold to hang around so I set off again along the beach keeping a watchful eye on the sky. Fortunately, half way along the sky started to clear in and I about turned and headed for the spot where I hoped to get a blip.

When I got there the sun was just starting to break through the clouds and produced some shafts of sunlight. I had selected this spot as rough seas of late had formed a small inlet of water. As the inlet filled and emptied with the surges of the sea an interesting pattern of ripples and waves was formed, which were highlighted by the reflecting sun (better in LARGE).

I may have had to run an extra mile for today's blip, but I reckon it was worth it to capture the moment I was after!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.