A life in a day ...

By Transmanche

Vantage cigarettes

I'm sure the cigarette packet was the first thing you noticed - in fact there are two of them; she's sitting on one and reclining on the other. She may be drinking a cup of tea or other beverage.

This is my most preferred work of art ever in the history of humanity. I first saw it at least 30 years ago on a postcard but lost it and then spent decades thinking about it and wondering who had painted it until I was given a book of Pop Art and there it was!!!

The artist is Mel Ramos (http://www.melramos.com/). He usually paints women in similar states of undress and often with some icon of our trash 'civilisation' (Coca Cola, Dunkin'Donuts). There's one with a can pf Campbell's Soup which obviously owes a lot to Andy Warhol.

I particularly like the way she looks at the beholder and her gaze is as enigmatic as the Mona Lisa's smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.