The Day I....

By Paega

The Day I Got Muddy

This morning I took Archie on a walk I hadn't done before. It was a bit hairy to start with as it began with having to cross a busy, fast dual carriageway. Having surmounted that obstacle we then had three styles to get over none of which had a gap for a dog and they were all covered in slippery green moss. With some cajoling I managed to convince Archie that he could jump the first two, which he did. The third beat him though and i had to resort to lifting and throwing him over, not easy with a full grown retriever. The other side of the third style was incredibly muddy and by the time I had got over Archie had turned from cream to devon mud red. The walk was nice even though it poured down half way through. It had a couple of other routes branching off that I will also explore sometime.

In the afternoon we took a stroll near Galmpton Quay and I took some photos of some handsome huge heffers. They seemed happy about it but when I went to catch up with my wife they all started to follow me and at some pace. I managed to outrun them though!

Also started using Social Hiking again. If you like walking/cycling and want to keep a record of the route you did you can get your smartphone to ping beacons and Social Hiking picks them up. If you tweet your photos along the way it will also show those up on the route. If you post to Flickr it will check the exif time and attach photos to the closest beacon sent at that time. I used it quite a bit last summer and I love it. One of my new year resolutions is to get walking more. These are the routes I took today.

Today's photo is of a trailer in the field. The early morning sun cast a nice light on the trailer and in the sky you can see where sunshine was about to be replaced by rain.

In the news: Rupert Murdoch is now on Twitter. I keep reading fearful tweets about him buying it. He sent a tweet out today saying that he thought the UK might have too many bank holidays for a broke country. He deleted it soon after but not before it had been picked up and retweeted. Funniest tweet I saw was from John Prescott welcoming him to Twitter and saying that he had wished Rupert a happy new year by leaving it on his voicemail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.