Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

And that?s engineering

The mouse part 3 - continued from yesterday.

Tremendous response to the mouse saga. Loved reading all your comments and I am so glad that you have been entertained.

I decided to stick with the propped container ploy and the tied bait trigger but with a more complex prop with a triple hinge that would greatly increase the fall rate. I used an extended lever tied to the bait as the trigger so it takes very little force to set the trap off.

I built the trap on a base plate and included a spring non-return lock design, as the container had a convenient rim around the opening. This prevents the mouse from lifting the container once triggered. Mice are stronger than you think. The trap was built and had it's first run last night.

I wasn't sleeping well, as you can imagine and was awoken by the mosque before 4am. I heard the trap fall and excitedly rushed to investigate. No mouse! The spring lock had not engaged either, but in testing the lock worked every time. I can deduce from this that the lid actually landed on the mouse's back and it was able to escape.

The problem is that the container was not big enough, not enough distance from the edge to the bait to draw the mouse inside. So, 4am, I was back in the workshop for a quick modification. I added a post to raise the bait out of reach, so the mouse had to enter the container to reach the bait.

I awoke at 8:30am, later than usual but at least I got a few Z's in. I checked the trap and OH JOY! We have a winner, whose yer daddy now then Mr Micky.

This mouse was bigger than your average mouse, bordering on being a rat, with a body length of 5.5 inches plus tail, no wonder the trap would not close. I am suspecting that it might be a young rat, with it's bald tail, research did not help, the stool size indicates a rat. I was also right about the strength, when it jumped about in an attempt to escape, without the spring lock, it would easily have lifted the container. I now need to find a bigger container for an upgrade. Here endeth the saga of the mouse.

Yesterday I took my poorly bike to the repair shop. The rear wheel was binding, the battery was flat, the carburetor needed tuning and the start button solenoid did not work. I asked how long, thinking three days, he said to leave my number and he will call in a few hours when it was ready. Ha! I like a good joke, I saw the queue of bikes waiting to be worked on.

Sure enough, 4pm he called, the bike was ready. Here's the really funny part, new brake shoes, new solenoid, new battery and cable connector, all fitted and the carburetor tuned, cost, £13 total and a packet of Marlborough reds (70p) for the mechanic. Yesterday was a good day, feeling pretty good today also.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.