Mark Macrae

By kipamac

Wind power!

Today started with me waking from a good sleep and calling my work to say I wouldn't be coming in today as I'm still full of the cold.

Perhaps a sensible decision also due to the severe high winds that hit Scotland today. I found myself watching the trees over the road behind our house being blown about like saplings and then was gobsmacked to watch a 70-80ft high tree slowly tumble over destroying a large wall and blocking access to a development of flats.

Shortly after this I glanced out the front of our house to realise that the 40ft tree in my neighbours garden was no longer there and that a number of slates had come loose and smashed in her drive. Dashing over to check that the tree had not hit the house I found that my neighbour didn't know the tree had uprooted. Thankfully it had fallen short of the house but had destroyed the garden shed and boundary wall.

Next up was our back garden fence partially collapsing. Hopefully that's all the damage we'll sustain from this storm.

I'll close by saying that todays image is of the first tree I witnessed toppling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.