thephotostoryofmylife

By soshanau

Photo 3 #366photos: Postman's Park

3 January 2012

'Greater love hath no man than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.'
John 15: 13

A moment of respite from the gales and torrential rain; the wind and rain had momentarily stopped and I just happened to be walking passed The Postman's Park. It is a haven I've been meaning to visit, so I took this opportune moment to have a look at the lovely typography and William De Morgan tiles.

You can read more about the history of the park here.

George Frederic Watts wanted to create this Memorial to Self Sacrifice, saying:

'The character of a nation as a people of great deeds is one, it appears to me, that should not be lost sight of. It must surely be a matter of regret when names worthy to be remembered and stories stimulating and instructive are allowed to be forgotten.

...

The material prosperity of a nation is not an abiding possession; the deeds of its people are.'

This is the tile which I found most heartrending. I think the most heartbreaking aspect was that he was a child of 11, and his heroic act was saving a sibling. 110 years late, I'm reading about Soloman Galaman's heroic act, keeping GF Watts' wonderful vision alive. Never forgotten.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.