contemplating...

...brothers

they can be a thorn in your side...

they can be a saving grace to you...

i grew up with 4 brothers - yes 4... sigh... sometimes they were the bane of my existence - especially since i was the little sister... while we did things together - we also sometimes couldn't stand the sight of each other... i'm certain this is standard operating procedure within families - at least large families where it's easy to take sides and experience the "he said - she said" story of life... as we became adults and grew into our own - leaving childish ways behind - we discovered the ability to interact more on a friendship level - but you never really outgrow where you are in the line up. the sort of expectation that comes along with wanting brothers to take care of you - look out for you - have your back... when life presents you with some road blocks in your journey...

my brothers represent the more stoic men of life... they tend along the lines of not being the best in communicating or expressing themselves... they are mathematicians - engineers... not that i'm sterotyping - but typically, those are individuals that can be a bit more closed and with my brothers, this holds some truth. so imagine my surprise - when last week i get a phone call from my oldest brother who wants to pay a visit... he and his wife have purchased a condo up in the mountains near me and spent the holidays there - so i said to come on down... we had a wonderful day together but the biggest treat of all came with a trip to shop for a telephoto lens for my camera... well - i love new toys with the best of them and in my current situation - it would be a very long time before i'd be able to afford any new lens... but here's my brother wanting to invest in my new venture with photography - saying to me "i'd like to help you have something to enhance your skills - that you wouldn't be able to get on your own..." well that's the truth - we all know what the cost of a lens is - and you could've knocked me over i was so taken aback.

when you least expect it - wonderful things come into your life... my brother sent me over the moon with his generosity. it doesn't really matter how much he might be able to communicate on a regular basis... this one act demonstrated to me that he's looking after me - he cares... he knows i'm struggling and he's involved in what's happening in my life. it spoke volumes to me - this act of kindness on his part... it's what needs to happen within families and was a healing between us. i am grateful... i am blessed to have a brother who so cares about me... now that makes for...

a

happy day.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.