Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Restricted

Another iPhone blip while I wait for the return of my Internet connection (shot through the car windscreen, which is most obviously in dire need of a wash and shine).

Most of the morning was spent giving my mate Robin a hand checking flights and hotels for a holiday he's planning in February. We spent from 10:30 to 1:00 on his really old PC because he couldn't remember the password for his wireless network so I could use my trusty MacBook that I'd brought with me. By the time we'd finished he had lots more info to help him make up his mind.

This van was stopped in front of me at the lights near Christchurch Cathedral as I made my way home afterwards, with a notice on its back door which is new to me. All a bit big-brotherish and nanny-stateish, it seems to me. I was wending my way homeward in hopes that UPC might have turned up and re-connected me to the internet, but that turned out to be wishful thinking.

Still no sign of anyone by 2:45, so I phoned yet again. A pre-recorded message informed that a technician would call on Monday afternoon, but I was having none of that. Today's rep (yet another different one, of course) told me he'd phone back and tell me if he'd managed to organise a house call for today. Still no word after another hour and a half so I made my fifth phone call in two days. Rep the fifth said she'd have a word with the previous guy. She did that, came back to say he'd only "just got" an email but had been on other calls. Word was that the earliest possible would be tomorrow morning. Rep the fourth was to phone with a more definite indication of time. It actually took until after 6:30 for a text message to arrive confirming a service call between one and six pm tomorrow. All this is just so somebody can get up a ladder and plug the cable back in. Ggggrrrrrrrrrrr!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.