What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Old Friends

Or, let the back-Blipping begin!

The first day of my annual New Year's holiday today and a chance to see friends who I consider more to be family than anything else.

On the first evening of the trip there's usually trip down to a pub for a group of what I call the "kids generation" (even though we're all 20-somethings now) which is just as well as the house where we stay is a dry one and is also full of our parents and the actual kids generation!

This photo is of my friend Karl, one of the resident pool experts in the group and yet another person moving to Australia (in fact, he's there by now!). I think he only lost one game that evening (unless he was teamed up with me... pool's not my game at New Year!). That one game was lost to a local guy who was frankly hilarious, possibly nine sheets to the wind, and during the break dropped two balls (both colours) with little apparent effort. It ended up being a really close match, I think the two of them only missed three times in total.

All in all it was a great night to start the holiday, a few pints with friends and idle chat about what we'd all been up to. Also not much wind or rain, though that was to come...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.