What did I see today...?

By DaveR

Eve of the New Year

Or Llanymynech Limeworks

Day Three of the New Year holiday and it's New Year's Eve already?! Happily we had an easier walk today around the Llanymynech Limeworks Heritage project, though the walk up the inclined planes was slightly reminiscent of the initial climb up the mountain the day before - but no wind or rain today.

I ended up only doing the walk with me folks as everyone else went to lunch, we thought it might rain in the afternoon (we were right!) and so went up straight away, and by the time we came down for lunch everyone else had moved on. I shot this on the way back down from the quarry at the top of the planes, the sun was actually out and shining through the trees so it was too good to miss.

The rest of the day was spent on a brief trip down my parent's memory lane, visiting a hotel Mum stayed at as a student on a geography trip (I know, a hotel, for students? Not like that anymore!) near Long Mynd. After taking afternoon tea, or in my case a cuppa, we went back to the house to get ready for New Year's Eve itself.

The rest of the evening passed in a traditional manner - we all dressed up in our finest (no, no Blip of me dressed up in a suit!), sat down for the evening's quiz (a personal highlight for me was helping my team get 27/30 on the movie themes round because I'm that much of a geek), then we had our dinner and started the usual charity auction that ran up to midnight and the final countdown of the year...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.