A life in a day ...

By Transmanche

Shopping centres

This is a mall at one of the two major shopping centres near where I live.
There is to be a vast extension to one of them which already has a new 'shopping park'.

These places are basically awful; they destroy local commerce and encourage uniformity as they all contain the same multiples. They are granted land and planning permission by local councils, I suppose to create jobs in the retail sector (as if we could spend more than we can already spend).

As the queues were horrendously long I chose a 'rapid' self-service checkout. Of course, it was painfully slow, but worse, this kind of facility not only puts all the onus on self-service (I prefer to be served when I part with my money) but just contributes to the job haemorrhage (spelling?) instead of contributing to employment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.