Chiara

By Chiara

Grandma sweater

Last month, when I was watching the news in the hospital waiting room, a story came on about how people were camping outside of stores even a few days before black Friday in hopes of scoring stuff like flat screen TVs or copies of Skyrim. The camera panned across a very long line of people sitting on lawn chairs, standing next to tents, and sporting hats and heavy coats. At first, I got a kick out of the fact that these fools actually removed themselves from the comforts of their own beds, home cooked meals, and daily showers just for the possibility of getting some crap for half price.

Having just written an article (for the pet website) on homeless animals the night before, I soon became disgusted. We Americans are so drunk on wealth and materialism that we have collectively forgotten how to live sensibly. While Americans rush out to buy brand new iPhone 4S's (after throwing their perfectly good phones away), starving people in third world countries would do anything for one hot plate of food. Homeless pets remain confined to their crates, waiting for a forever home. Terminally ill children lay in hospitals, wishing for nothing but to be in good health. People here in America are so blinded by their materialistic greed while less fortunate people and animals are silently wishing for things we already have and take for granted.

It was right there and then when I made a decision: instead of buying people gifts for Christmas this year, I would donate to the charity of each person's choice in their name.

Most of the people I contacted reacted positively (others, not so much), so I went out and donated until I dropped. Here, in this picture, are the cards I made myself for the people who chose charities that didn't provide donation certificates or thank you cards.

This is the first time I've ever gave someone a gift that made us both feel good. I think I will do this more often.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.