Early morning paddle on Kawau Bay

Tomorrow afternoon we collect son and his children from the Auckland airport after their flight from Sydney to stay with us for two weeks. Thinking that we might want to stay overnight in the city, I had arranged a number of appointments for today. That required leaving Snells early, which meant an early run.

Lots of low cloud obscured the actual sunrise. However, when I got down to the Snells Beach waterfront path, a man about my age was taking his kayak across the sand into the high tide, and he then paddled out into the bay. The water of the bay was reflecting the dawn sky as he left the shore surrounded by ripples.

Took J with me on the trip to Auckland, as she has things to attend to related to her return home, and I took myself to the office wherefrom I emerged again almost six hours later. Picked up J and headed back north to join S, other daughter and her boys. Barbecued the sausages; sauteed the mushrooms for Mr H and me, enjoyed a glass of Syrah, and am now posting this picture.

In retrospect this will be a quiet and uneventful day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.