Diary of a Homeowner

By JennyWrenny

The Original Newcastle United

I hope this blip isn't too much of a cop out, it being a picture of a picture, but I really wanted to share this with you all and I've been saving it for a lazy blip day.

This picture is on the wall at St. James' Metro Station and is of the very first Newcastle United football team, which was founded in 1892. I'll often look at these guys whilst waiting for my metro and think about how much life has changed since then and wonder what they would make of it all today. I particularly like the guy on the left having 'a tab break' and what's with those moustaches?!

For those of you who are not familiar with Newcastle you are probably beginning to realise that football features widely in everyday life in this city.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.