Bedtime

Well.... it was going to be a Ben Bath Blip but then I noticed Steve and Charley looking all gorgeous cuddling together and couldn't resist ;)

It's been a good day, overall. It's good when you get to the end of a day and feel that way. Especially when you woke up at the beginning of the day feeling utterly wretchedly ill!

Managed to be up and dressed and fed by just after midday though, in time to be picked up by Chris to go and get our pottery that we painted with the boys before Christmas. Taking both boys out without Steve is not something I look forward to, but as Charley would be in the wrap and Ben therefore chaseable I figured what could go wrong ;0) Well the older two were actually pretty well behaved all things considered (mainly the fact that they completely bounce off of each other and copy each other and go mental when they see each other generally)! We got our pottery pieces, and the boys got to play on the diggers and climbing frame, and we had hot chocolate and cake and food, and managed to get all of us to our respective homes in one piece without too much stress! I don't see enough of Chris now she's back at work so it was lovely to see her for a bit :)

Steve on the other hand got to have a long bath in peace and quiet!!! Lucky so-and-so ;0)

We've made lasagne together this evening, and it turned out to be the best lasagne we've ever made. VERY yummy.

AND Ben went to bed happily after his bath, despite the battles and mini-tantrums and not listening and shouting and blah blah blah. He actually fell asleep in my arms, he's not done that in ages! I had to lift him up into bed, and he was snoring within a minute :)

He's just been down having woken up with Charley's screaming, and it could have gone oh-so-badly but a quick cuddle with me and Charley downstairs and him and me almost nodding off (Charley basically asleep on the boob anyway) and then persuading him that it would be a good thing if he let his daddy carry him upstairs as he was so tired, being lifted into bed almost asleep (he even said "thanks" as Steve covered him up with the duvet!), I think he was gone by the time I took his hand :)


Charley on the other hand - well I think I need to get his latch checked out. I'm beginning to think the only reason he's gaining weight is because I'm still feeding Ben, and the way I'm doing it means that Charley gets a lot of the calorie-rich fatty milk. And I think that the main reason I'm not having problems with my boobs or nipples is also thanks to Ben. At the moment I'm seriously grateful that we've ended up tandem nursing, but I can't wait to get to see a professional lactation consultant to check us over for latch / effective milk transfer / tongue tie. For Charley to be able to feed easily and effectively without all the pain that wind is causing him (without simply medicating the problem), and for him to not be permanently attached of an evening would be so so lovely.


Anyway enough of that. Bedtime now, just after midnight but still it's better than 3am and with Ben already re-settled and Charley asleep I might actually get to sleep before then as WELL as being in bed!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.