Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Psyche butterfly

This has been the worst two days of 'dying rear' that I can remember ever suffering. Usually the loo dashes only last for six, maybe ten hours, but this has been going on now for getting on for 48 hours. Some times as many as six per hour, there was one period that I lived on the throne for three hours, as it was just not worth the effort getting up.

At times I was able to get 40 minutes sleep, only to be woken by the warm wet sensation. I ran out of bedding last night, so you can imagine how things are, sleeping on a sheet of plastic that I had available in my workshop. I also had to force myself to hurl a couple of times, as the acid reflux built to unbearable levels.

The feeling ill and feint was down to dehydration and salt deficiency and I made a point of drinking a cup of water with a pinch of salt after every trip. Dehydration is the most dangerous part of such afflictions and if you do not keep on top of things, you can find yourself in a lot of trouble. I hate drinking water, so this was quite an effort.

To be honest, I had given up any notion of blipping today, as at blip time this morning things were as bad as ever, but the last few hours have brought a steady improvement, so I nipped around to the grove around midday to see if I could grab something quick.

I have seen this butterfly quite often in my sessions and also while researching. It is called a psyche, naturally the unusual name stuck in my head. It is one of those butterflies that flutters about as if looking for somewhere to land, but always changes it's mind. In the past I have followed this butterfly for twenty minutes and fifty meters and still not be able to fire off a single shot.

Today, I was in a very gloomy, tree covered area, just before the grove land patch and to my amazement, she landed and allowed me to get up close. Finally I understand, this butterfly prefers the shaded areas, as there were quite a few of them around.

I got my elbows down in the mud for a solid base for the slow shutter speed that I was forced to use and even closed up the aperture to try and get some depth. I only took a few shots as I really wanted to lie down again, so I did not get the crisp shot that I wanted, but at least it is a blip.

Tomorrow should be better, as I am definitely improving, even able to sit down and type this narrative, I had just intended to type 'sorry I'm sick, cannot write today', but my fingers kept poking away. I am starving, but won't eat anything today, maybe a plate of boiled rice tonight if all goes well. Sorry for being so graphical above, but this is what happened to me today and so should be documented as such.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.