In the moment..

By MoshersMoll

Oudehaven, Vlaardingen

It's five years today since my Grandmother passed away and yet it still doesn't seem to have sunk in properly. So much has happened since then but on the other hand it feels like only yesterday. I am not very good at dealing with these emotions, much easier to brush them under the carpet, continue living in denial. The problem with this is I may come across as completely detached or unemotional to those around me, which is far from true. I just struggle to find the words or the know-how to really connect with other people. My Grandma was the complete opposite of me, which is probably why I admired her so much. Such an outgoing personality, warm, generous, full of joy and constantly surrounded by friends. She is greatly missed by all who knew her.

So, a low-key day here. We had a wander around Vlaardingen city centre, strolled along the harbour and relaxed in a cafe with coffee & cake. The storms and flood warnings subsiding, still extremely windy but at least we enjoyed a few sunny intervals. You can just about see the warm glow of the setting sun on the buildings. Talk of course turned to our dreams of owning our own boat one day. Not such a pipe dream here in The Netherlands, houseboats-a-plenty! Watch this space!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.