Photos of things I see

By Aboak

Craigmillar Castle

This was our first trip to Craigmillar Castle, which lies in the south-east of Edinburgh and commands great views over the Forth and the south of the city, in particular the notorious, but impressively regenerating Craigmillar and Niddrie housing estates.

For a wonderful half hour or so, we had the whole castle to ourselves, exploring the many stairways, ramparts and rooms therein. It's much bigger and far more interesting than I thought it'd be. Don't know why, but I assumed it was going to be just a pile of rubble, having never paid much attention to it whenever I've driven past. So it was most definitely a pleasant surprise.

It was hard not to be sentimental as I gazed down to Simpsons Maternity hospital in the castle's shadows where my little Knight and Princess were both born.

Being tight-fisted, I will insist on many more visits as I've shelled out for Historic Scotland membership.

Here's to an historic 2012 :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.