Pandora

At the request of my fellow blipper Ashlea's Dawn I've blipped my bracelet.

As I've got older I've become more aware of the extravagance of such items. They can certainly be deemed totally unnecessary and yet, these are markers of events and gifts and so it makes me happy to look at them.

It was hard to photograph so I've had to do it in two bits because there are a couple I want to highlight.

- Dave gave me the I LOVE YOU charm and the rabbit when he bought the bracelet so they are special.
- The blue-ier green charm was given to me by my team one Xmas.
- The Queen Bee at the left hand end was one I bought for myself at the end of a long and challenging project I had managed. I thought it appropriate!
- The Quake House (4th from left) is one that makes me think. When Christchurch suffered its big 7+ quake back in September 2010, there was no loss of life. Yes there was damage to buildings in town and to some houses which was frightening and costly but it was pretty small scale. We all felt very lucky and there were the inevitable T-shirts "I Survived...." and - a charm. Then Feb 22, 2011 struck and I did not feel so untouchable or indestructible again. When I look at this charm I think about complacency.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.