Ever bright and fair

By vincedesjardins

Starry Starry Ant

As I was packing away the Christmas ornaments, I came across this etched glass ant ornament that didn't get put up this year. We have a lot of ornaments and some years, like this one, we run out of energy (or room on the tree) and not every ornament gets hung. This was in an envelope at the bottom of the ornament box. It's an ornament that I bought many years ago when I was living in Los Angeles. My former partner and I use to go to lots of yard sales and flea markets. We found this at a yard sale that had a lot of WWII memorabilia for sale. The man selling it said it was made in a factory in Germany that employed old people during the war. I'm not sure if it was meant to be a Christmas ornament or if it had another purpose, but I did buy another one as well that has a mosquito etched into it. They only measure about an inch across and I love how they look when they are in front of a light. In this photo, I am hand holding the ornament with one hand, while taking the picture with the other.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.