Sailing Away

Down to the yard to check out any wind damage. The wee Ouzel was perfectly unharmed and actually looked rather good so I took a flattering, if totally uninteresting, photo of it. The days are ticking down till it's back in the water. Last night's party was quite OK - I met a guy who had a motor boat in some creek off the Solent who is planning to sail down through the French canals and thence to Turkey (which was nice!)
Ah, sailing. Why does it fill so much of my mind in my idle moments? My actual feelings towards it are far from simple, and I experience more anxiety than I care to admit to every time I get close to going for a sail. I empathised a great deal with Libby Purves's attitude last month. She took exception to the term 'keen' sailor. What did she prefer? Compelled, addicted, unnerved, terrified, anxious and fascinated. I'll drink to that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.