Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

The Epiphany celebrated

Last Epiphany

All are welcome

After a morning's work, it was ice skating for us all. Now I'm admitting here and now that I'm appalling on skates of every variety and the fact that I had a fully laden camera bag merely added to the farce, especially when trying to help the boys.

At mass, I was beyond warmed to see that the church is celebrating The Epiphany today as it fell last Friday. Now if you follow me you know I'm a huge fan of Christmas and this was a great boost to me this evening. We were still singing Christmas carols and the church was merrily decorated, glowing in its ethereal light. The church is not decorated until Christmas Eve so that parishioners are wowed with that initial impact of beauty, that anticipation of what's to come on the most precious of nights. I managed some video snippets of the singing that I'll share.

I'm still struggling with big changes to the Nicene Creed, a prayer I've said my whole life and now I need to refer to the Mass sheet. At least in that I'm not alone as parishioners fumble over their words. Arriving so early (as opposed to so late, the norm), we sat like front row saints, but it only served to keep the boys dancing in their seats. The singing is on another planet, artists from throughout the entertainment industry in LA forming an phenomenal choir. There are two reasons I've started going to church again: the boys' enjoyment and the peace I feel within.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.