Quoting Dr Johnson

Samuel Johnson said nobody but a fool ever wrote except for money. Well, yesterday was spent completing my tax return and it would seem that most of my writing does not produce great profits. Hey ho.

The other thing I did yesterday was tidy my desk area and my notice board. This always throws up items of clutter. Now coins of the realm shouldn't be viewed as clutter. And the only reason that this 50p coin was reduced to clutter was that I'd kept it because I liked the design on the reverse: this quotation from Dr Johnson's dictionary, defining 'fifty pence'.

So, I made a decision: if I photograph it then I can keep the design to admire any time and pop the coin in my purse to spend ... whenever. Job done. The photo has another advantage over the coin itself - I don't need a magnifying glass to read it!

Now to email my tax return off ... phew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.