Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

In Memory of Terry Gibbel

I walked up the hill to the north of Bar Beach where the trig point is to get a shot back over the beaches as the clouds were rather nice. I assume the council have put a fence up because there was a new fence blocking where I used to go for such shots. This made me walk a bit higher up where I had not been before and I came across this cross. I could not read anything about him other that "in memory of" and what I assume to be his date of death of 12 August 1951.

I wonder who he was and how he died. I wonder if there is anyone of his family left who could fix his cross up. There were some little grevillias at the foot of his cross which looked like someone had laid some flowers. It was all rather moving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.