Thy Acrid Teardrop

By RadicalRadish

Bzzzzzz, Bzzzzzzz

This is the MRI scanner at the Department of Clinical Neurosciences in Edinburgh. I'm well acquainted with the DCN having had a number of scans and other appointments there, it is also where I had my surgery. I think I am very fortunate as lots of people comment to me how much they dislike the confined space of the scanner. It's honestly never bothered me at all but I can understand that the tight space could be claustrophobic for them.

The angle I took this at doesn't really show the length of the MRI tube. The hole in the middle actually goes back quite a long way. At times today only my feet up to the ankles were outside the tube. I must have been tired this morning as part way through I heard the radiographer ask if I was alright - they can see the patient via a camera and talk via an intercom. It was only after that I realised I had been close to sleeping and that she must have been a little concerned. I'm certainly tired now because the injected contrast agent (Gadolinium) knocks me all to whack and I was given quite a hefty dose of it today.

I should get the results of this scan on Wednesday but I'm not stressed about getting them because I pretty much know what will have been found.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.