How to catch a star

By Shinythings

Work, work and more work

So today was a 'work' day. And what a day it's been. My patients have all been lovely and, apart from having to tell some really nice people that they have the big 'C' I've had a nice day.

Apart from the argument I had with the stupid lovely lady in occupational health. You see work is not as great as it used to be. From a nice easy 24 hour a week job, monday to friday between 8am and 6pm we're now being forced into providing an 'on call' service 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Now, I don't disagree with this (some very unstable patients turn up at 2am) but to be forced into doing it, with a "do it or leave" attitude just rubs me up the wrong way. Anyhoo, I'm trying to engineer my way out and into another job. With the right connections I've managed to secure some bank work in research nursing and hopefully when a permanent job comes up that'll put me in good stead.

Back to occupational health! I'm scheduled to start tomorrow. Got CRB checks back and got childcare sorted and arranged everything with a very snowed under nurse who's delighted to be going help! Apart from Occ Health haven't "passed me fit" to start. Turns out I need to have a telephone 'chat' about my health before I can start and it's scheduled for 25th Jan. Even though I already work in the hospital!!!! So anyway the lovely lady in occ health absolutely refused to make my appointment for this 5 min chat any sooner than the 25th. So annoying. Going to do the shift tomorrow 'voluntarily' to show willing and earn brownie points and to help out. But come on - how ridiculous!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.