shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Lights and angles

A quick grab (in relative terms given the long exposure, though compared to some recently, this is a quick snap!) before running for the train, but using the trusty gorilla pod. The moon was incredible tonight, and I really, really wished I'd had my long lens with me, though I suspect the slight natural shake in the bridge when people walk on it might have ruined a decent shot, as that lens is not at all fast. For those of you familiar with Stirling, you know where this is, for anyone who has been following my blips for some time, you've seen this bridge from several angles, for the rest of you, this is the pedestrian bridge which crosses Stirling station. It is commonly known as the Spiky Bridge, fitting in well with the Scottish tradition of naming bridges informally, take for example the Squinty and Squiggly bridges in Glasgow. But I rather liked this, and the fact that though it is bizarre in terms of composition (slightly off centre moon, but not so off centre as to make claims to rule of thirds, the platforms below which may be a distraction, but somehow give a nice ordinary context for the je ne sais quoi that is the bridge and the moon), there's something that works for me. Though it's my photo, so no bias there!

And after running for the train it was so late (due to engine problems) into Glasgow I could just have taken my time and got the later one! It was enlivened by photography chat with a nice fellow passenger, which was good. Due to the time I had to head straight to church for the joint deacons and elders meeting, so got called a bag lady by our lovely pastor. I was carrying three of them to be fair.

Thanks for all your good wishes yesterday, I am feeling better, but still a little woolly headed, so am off to bed and will catch up on commenting later this week! Hope your weeks have started well!

Edit: Noticed an unusual spike in views on my Flickr account this morning, it turns out that not only did US Yahoo include one of my shots in one of their galleries, but Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum have tweeted and posted on Facebook a link to the shot blipped on Thursday! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.