Canon EOS 550D

After years of thinking about a buying a DSLR I sought some advice on the subject an eventually went for the Canon EOS 550D.

This is the camera I use when I don't need the camera to be tough or compact (for tough and compact see Olympus µTough 8000.

The camera knows more about photography than I do. I'm pretty sure that the lenses know more than I do too. It's a good camera and I've been pleased with the results.

As it turns out there's a Buddhist origin to the name Canon

"The prototype camera was named "Kwanon" because Yoshida was a believer in "Kwannon, the Buddhist Goddess of Mercy." The camera's logo depicted a thousand-arm Kwannon Goddess, and even its lens was named "Kasyapa" which came from Mahakasyapa, a disciple of the Buddha."

-- From History Hall

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.