Part of the railway bridge over the River Ness, at high tide, with the only remain river pier of the former bridge that was destroyed in a flood back in 1989. There are some good shots on Flickr (they aren't mine) here, that give an idea of what happened on that day in February 1989. Back then I was working for a small electronics company in Inverness, and remember hearing about it on the local radio station (MFR). Went around for a wee look at lunchtime. It was quite a shock.

Several years prior to that, whilst a Student at the local College, I'd taken a photo of some Goosanders swimming by the bridge. And was bothered that I hadn't brought a telephoto lens, so had missed a opportunity to get a good closeup of them. Little realising that the more sceneic view of the them and the bridge, was something captured in a photograph that would vanish in less than five years.

= = = = = = = = = =

Whiskers removed this morning. It took a while. Don't know how old the razor was, but it certainly wasn't new, and is well shot now!

Finally back to work, and a routine. Cycled for the first time in at least a month. That was made much easier by the weather being fairly mild... for January. Also had a short swim tonight. So the system will be in shock when I attempt to cycle tomorrow.

Whilst waiting in the queue at the Aquadome (pool) I noticed a familiar face come through a doorway to my left. I was puzzled for short moment, "How do I know her? Or where have I seen her before?" It slowly dawned, and was then confirmed by the appearance of her partner. "A fellow Blipper!" I was too shy to go up to them in the crowded entrance, and confuse/embarrass them by saying I knew them... or rather, virtually knew them. Slightly strange seeing people in the flesh that you've corresponded with, learnt a little about, but not expected to meet. Wonder if they'll read this...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.