sweating

Hmmmm.

"It is not known what causes primary hyperhidrosis. One theory is that hyperhidrosis results from an overactive sympathetic nervous system, but this hyperactivity may in turn be caused by abnormal brain function."

Thank you, Wikipedia. It sort of makes "However, anxiety can exacerbate the situation for many sufferers" self-fulfilling.

But wait...

"Other factors can play a role; certain foods & drinks, nicotine, caffeine, and smells can trigger a response."

I grant that caffeine might have an effect being the nice all-round metabolic stimulant it strives to be. Certain foods, though... if so certain they can surely be named?

Fortunately if I sit absolutely still in a chilled room with constant airflow and ventilatory-conducive clothings I can generally get by without sweating copiously. If I move or speak then it generally starts. If I want to be reckless and walk 1.62 miles across the city centre at a relatively leisurely pace sticking to the shadowy sides of the streets at lunchtime to check that the Royal Mail are still insisting on hiding my parcel then I'll sweat like a bastard even though other people on the warm side of the same streets are wearing several layers with arms and necks and hats. I thought things might change slightly when I shortened my hair but it's much the same. Insofar as I can tell within the half-stone weight range I have occupied for the past sixteen years slight changes in body fat percentage have no effect. Moving three degrees northwards thirteen years ago achieved little. At least fabric technology is slowly catching up to my requirements; perhaps one day I could have tailored an office-shirt and pair of employment-trousers made out of old cycling-t-shirts.

Of course, that's assuming that this is all "in excess of that required to reduce body temperature" as I certainly disagree with the majority of the local population regarding pleasant t-shirt and shorts weather and thus might just sweat lots because my skin always thinks it's the middle of summer. Maybe I just need to move somewhere vastly colder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.