The Gazweasel Times

By gazweasel

Bambi

I've read that there's quite a few deer in Farnham Park but I rarely see any. Occasional glimpses of them disappearing into the woods or running off in the distance is generally all I get. And then today, I saw four. These two were happily grazing and I only spotted them accidentally. I had to reverse my tracks and crouch behind a dead tree to get them. Even then they saw me but, realising I was a harmless blipper, they carried on their munching after giving me the once over.

The other two deer were quite a distance away but approaching me. I put the lead on the dogs and waited, camera ready. Suddenly a big dog came bounding over a hill, running straight towards them (I half expected to hear someone yelling "BENTON"). Of course this spooked them completely and they bounded off in opposite directions, leaving the dog looking quite stupid, not knowing which one to follow.

Quite nice large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.