Hedging?

This bears no connection to yesterday's visit to the Botanics except as an illustration of contrast.

We had to return to the recycling centre again today and, since our visit yesterday, the hedge beside the approach has been...well, I cannot really describe it as cut, trimmed or pruned. It is what my father described as 'a murdered hedge' and is what our Council inflicts upon public hedges that are accessible to a tractor and a flail. It is hideous and more so in large.

I grew up in a part of the country, and at a time, when hedge-laying was a common practice and the boy who lived opposite became a County (possibly National) champion. I realise that nowadays skilled manpower personpower is limited but is there no other method to trim hedges than this? I could do better will a dining fork.

End of rant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.