Lookabootye

By hcalibrarian

Laing Charters

One afternoon a week I spend my time cataloguing medieval manuscripts at Edinburgh University Library. This is a voluntary job which helps me develop my skills as a History librarian. I'm working my way through the Laing Charters. The earliest is an Anglo Saxon 9th century charter. There are about 3,300 of these charters and I'm only at number 491 after almost 2 years, so this will keep me going for a while ;o)

Here's a photo of one of the charters I was working with today. It's dated 30th July 1543 and concerns lands in Lundin, Fife. Below is a quote from the Revd. Anderson's hand list of the Laing Charters (without which I couldn't catalogue them).

Charter by Walter Lundyn of that Ilk, granting in favour of his cousin or kinsman ('consanguineo') JOHN LUNDYN, his heirs and assignees, the lands of Stratharlie, in the barony of Lundin and shire of Fife, resigned by the said John for new infeftment: To be holden of the granter for services used and wont. Dated and signed at Lundin in Fife, 30th July 1543. Witnesses, John Lundyn, son and heir of granter, Thomas Mychelsoune, Thomas Gray, Alexander Pittillok, Mr. Mathew Selcreik, chaplain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.