Brave Blue World

By OlliEcological

Nothing is worth more than this day.

I've never been one for New Year's resolutions. Always thought it's better to just start doing whatever you want to do straight away.

However.

I saw a photo of an old friend from University (Liverpool; natch) the other day. We were incredibly close and we used to sit and talk and smoke and listen to Teenage Fanclub together. On the album "Thirteen" the song "Fear of Flying" contains the lyric, "This is your one-way ticket, so don't fuck it up", which we both agreed was a decent sentiment to abide by.

So this blip is my new starting point. Three things I must do more of to lift the soul. The boots and bottle are to remind me to head for the hills at every opportunity. The box of wet flies will tell me to go to rivers and fish as often as possible. The Amnesty booklet serves two purposes; to instruct me to be as good a human being as I can possibly manage and to remember there are so many others who don't even get the chance.

Here goes. This one's for you Vicky Reid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.