Alive and clicking

By Daviator

If it seems too good to be true...

Took pics of the moon before and after midnight so did two blips in one shoot!

I was testing my cheapo Jessops x2 adapter with my 70-300mm. I'd taken some moon pics before without the x2 and just cropped further in. So was my £80 investment worth it?...

It pains me to say it but i think the shots without the adapter are actually better. I took loads of pics with various setting changes, heavy tripod, remote shutter etc... but this is as good as i got. The benefit of the extra reach is offset by the loss of 2 f stops and more glass between the subject and sensor. The end result is actually less detail than cropping in.

Maybe i'll try it again on a sunny day for wildlife, but for now it's getting packed away.

Should have known it was too good to be true :0(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.