wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

The work of an evening

My old earrings board was full. I'd made it from something that came in a white cardboard box (probably something macish) - cut out a square, stabbed pairs of holes, and hung it up with a piece of ribbon to a bulldog clip. This one looks much more classy - corkboard covered in black polyester satin stuff (pre-made thanks to crafty things my mother used to make and display), now with lacy bits stapled to the back and held with small darts along the front. I might even attach a hook to the back and hang it on my wall.

Yes, this is part of my earring collection, missing a few dangly pairs (some kept in their special boxes, and my super tacky Christmas ones I forgot to hang up) and all my studs (they get to muddle together in a box). I only got my ears pierced a few years ago, when I was bridesmaid for a friend, and I still love finding all kinds of earrings. Some of these I really like, but can't quite work out what to wear with, others I wear (and blip) probably far too much. There's a few experimental ones I made and haven't ever worn, a few that only come out for the costume parties, and at least one pair from the 1920s (middle pair on the bottom row) which I wear whenever I can find an excuse.

I'm not a girly girl, but I do love earrings.



And books, I love books. This video made me smile so much today. You should watch it too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.