Amateur's confessions

By S79

Spark in the eye

I once asked my mother, how does she feel inside.
Does she feel any differently, does she feel she is grown up and all mature as she is already over 50.
She answered, that no, she feels just the same inside like she was a young girl, only the cover has grown and wrinkled up a bit.

I always had the illusion, that being grown-up is some kind of a special state of mind. That one moment you have grown up and that's that. From that moment on you are wise, patient and fair, serious and practical.

As I entered the grown-up world, the disappointment was enormous. All the kindergarten mind games continued, but in a different form. Being a grown-up is mostly an illusion, one way or another.

Spark in the eye lets me see the little boy inside a man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.