Thy Acrid Teardrop

By RadicalRadish

Not Quite Zorro

Today I had the moulding of my mask and the accompanying CT scan. Both went really well with no problems or issues. The process of making the mask is really quite complex, it has to be done in a set sequence of steps and it has to be timed in a way that it will set but not set too much for the next layer to be built on.

Basically the mask is made of three parts. The back is made first and is moulded to the shape of the back of my head down to the nape of my neck. Next the first layer of the front is done, it is made of one sheet of solid plastic but with holes cut in so when it's stretched it turns out as three strips across my forehead, top lip and chin. Finally the top layer of the front is made, it is a plastic mesh which takes on the contours of my face.

All of the mask is made of thermoplastic which comes in sheets which are then dipped in hot water to make them fully flexible then laid in position, clipped to the table and hand moulded to get a tight fit. Once the mask has set solid it's all unclipped leaving two halves which then clip together for the treatments/scans and then clip to the table to keep me completely still.

I was incredibly on edge about today's appointments but I can honestly say it wasn't even half as bad as I thought it would be. It's a little uncomfortable while the plastic is setting because it shrinks as it cools but aside from that it was actually all ok. The people who were doing the mould were brilliant, it takes three people to get it all done and they talked to me about what they were doing and about all kinds of other things.

Next I have an appointment with my consultant oncologist - not sure when that will be yet as she now has to work with the medical physicists to figure out angles for the radiation beams and the best way of giving me the doses, either arc or 5 beam most likely.

This picture is the front half of the mask, the red lines are from a ceiling laser in the CT scan room and the black background is the bed of the scanner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.