Silence

By silence

Travelling light

The organised chaos that is my camping cupboard. L-R at the top you can see an olive green tarp shelter, a wonderfully absurd fleece all-in-one, a mallet, my awesome new backpacking stove, the kitchen sink(!), picnic blanket, plastic lids from food storage boxes, UFO lights, and the grey storage bag at the back is a backpacking table.

The bottom shelf is mostly tents and sleeping bags - the huge thing on the left is a 4-man Lichfield Creek tent, and the OFFENSIVELY BLUE stuff sack is a hiking tent which is frighteningly lightweight. In between there's a bunch of car camping gear (airbed, an old cotton rug and spare pillow), my rucksack peeking out at the top, and a windbreak in the dark green bag. The camo thing at the bottom is a Gelert sleeping bag I bought in a hurry in Taunton a couple of years ago when a long weekend of very clear days and accompanying very cold nights froze me out of my elderly lightweight indoor bag - the start of a slippery slope...

What you can't see is the concealed stack of yet more stuff at the back - another, larger backpack, a big camping table, about three holdalls and my mud-free posh-travelling suitcase!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.