Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Adventures

This is Agnes. OK, I don't know if that's her name, but she looks like an Agnes to me. We were at the bus stop this afternoon, she with her walker, me with my scooter.

This is the first time I've ventured out alone on the bus with my scooter, and it wasn't without a little excitement, including almost tipping over whilst getting off the lift ramp. (I was on the receiving end of rolled eyes by the bus driver - I hate that!) I needed a couple of things at Trader Joe's and I didn't want to drive there, but it's out of range for a scooter trip. Then it occurred to me: the bus! The stop is right down the street and at the other end, there's a stop right in front of T Joe's. There are lift ramps and priority seating (and boarding, I discovered) for people with disabilities, so it really couldn't get much easier.

Maneuvering the scooter in the narrow aisle of the bus is a little tricky, especially when they want you to turn around and face forward. And don't tell you until you're settled in. I managed without running over too many toes.

Agnes sat behind me on my trip home, and when she spotted my groceries in my rear basket right in front of her, she declared, "Oh good! I can have some lunch!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.