Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Aston Junction

Today involved a trip to Birmingham for the third time in as many months, with Aston University seeming to be the meeting and conference venue of choice at the moment.

A sign of my growing familiarity with the city is that I travelled without a street map. I didn't have time to go off on ancestral quests again on this visit, but I did take a short walk off the edge of campus at lunch time, which is how I came to find Aston Junction.

This is where the Digbeth Branch Canal joins the Birmingham and Fazeley canal. You might just make out the name of the manufacturer, Horseley Ironworks, on the bridge. Although the spot looks run down it was busy with walkers and runners at lunch time - I'm not sure I'd have wanted to go too far into the maze of locks, towpaths and bridges on my own though.

As an added bonus, on the way back to campus, I picked up a new ghost sign for my collection.

at the iron bridge ~ a junction of two canals ~ choose a slow journey

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.