Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

What's eating?

Something's bugging Reuben today, or I guess we all have our off days. I dropped Callum off at school after a morning of Bob Books and then picked up Reuben and took him to speech and then physical therapies. It's strange the mismatch between his conversational skills and reading: in a typical world, your child would learn to speak and chat away before they can read. With Reuben, it is the complete opposite. He's an accomplished reader of many books now: Cat in the Hat, Go Dog Go, Hop on Pop, Goodnight Moon, My World, The Giving Tree. They may take him a while to read, but he does read them all the way through, each and every word, all by himself. It's a marvel for a 4.5 year old. But in communicating how he feels, holding a conversation with the requisite toing and froing of a tennis match, it's a challenge that needs a lot of patience. I always pray for having more.

I have been decidedly absent from looking at any Blips so I do greatly value anyone who's still sticking with me and stopping by. Thanks.

Compare to Callum's profile

I'd neglected to mention the sweetness of dropping Callum off at school this afternoon, the "WC" school as he calls the YWCA. He was shrieking with excitement as the dumpsters screeched past, indeed all the kids were, and Callum started running away to the other side of the yard, then followed by two little friends. It charmed me enormously, seeing how he's made friends and that he was a mini leader, them imitating him. Then together the three proceeded to try to push down the wall, all their strength resting against it and laughing at their silliness. Callum has certainly grown up since he started here and is enjoying the freedom it's giving him.

I've been loving my new investments and feeling again the gorgeous glide of a zoom in my hand, especially one that handles with such seamless dexterity this focal range. Until I can devote the time to upload to my blogs or web, FB is remaining the holding zone for the galleries, in all its crummy reproduction so feel free to pop in and say hi.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.