Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

HOBBY OR OBSESSION?

I wonder if the transition between a hobby and an obsession is the moment when you find yourself standing on the decking in freezing temperatures at 5.30 am, in your nightie and bare feet, struggling with your camera and your tripod, wondering if you will get it set up before the clouds obscure the moon.
I have a lot of learning to do about taking an image of the moon - the camera kept moving slightly in spite of using a tripod and delayed shooting - but I am happy to have made my first effort. I like the slightly crusty effect of the crates on the edge of the shadow. Can do better and will, after all, the moon is not going any place - at least not in my life time.
Meanwhile, there was the wonder of the experience - the silence of the early morning, the crisp air, the fully present feeling you get when your feet are freezing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.