The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Aerial Surpremecy

Well I made it to Ogmore, as predicted in yesterdays blip, (and thanks for all the stars and hearts yesterday, it means a lot .. I am quite proud of that photo.).

The weather was gloomy and misty when I got up, and until lunchtime I was in two minds whether to go or not. In the end, I thought, to hell with it, I need to brush up on my landscape photography .. may be I will get a nice grainy, black and white, misty seascape.

I would have ... if it wasn't for the fact by the time I got there the mist had burnt away and it was gloriously sunny. Now I hate to sound a killjoy .. but it was too sunny for said photographer ... the glare coming off the sea made it very hard to take any photos.

Luckily, the local wildlife was enough to keep me occupied. The moment I changed from the zoom lens to the wide angled one this kestrel appeared above where I was sitting. I then had to frantically try to switch the lenses back without scaring it away. I managed this shot and this one before it flew off.

I also managed this shot of a Curlew and this Oystercatcher before I remembered what I came there for!

For the record .. my humble attempts at landscape photography were thus:

Ogmore Shoreline #1

Ogmore Shoreline #2

Dog Walkers On The Beach

Landscapes never thrill me. I mean they don't do anything .. well I know they do, but I don't have a spare aeon to watch!

I bumped into Flintaxe whilst there, and ended up chatting to her for over an hour!

Before heading home, I stopped at the estuary and had a meander down the river. The sunset was stunning again. Norfolk and The Wash may get the skeins of geese, but Ogmore gets huge flocks of gulls. These proved to be quite spectacular in the setting sun. All in all quite a pleasant afternoon in the end ...

Footnote: On driving home, I spotted a Heron feeding in a flooded field in Heronston ... All was right in the world ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.