Going Bananas

Week 2 of my Foto Friday 52 week food photo challenge :)

As the plumber is now coming in the morning I went along to the presentation about the local building development. The proposed supermarket is most likely going to be Sainsburys which local blippers to me will find odd as they are also opening a new store our side of Ely. However, a lady there was telling us that Sainsburys are on a mission to catch up on branch numbers with Tesco and are very interested in this site. Asda have also expressed an interest, Tesco are non-commital either way and Morrisons were a definite no.

I asked about Stella's footpath and as long they can prove to the Highways and Environmental Agencies that an alternative would be just as beneficial to the public, it will be allowed to be moved. There will be a new open green space/recreational area alongside and the car parking must be landscaped to provide plenty of green too so the view shouldn't be horrible for dog-walkers and horse-riders. I also made the point that the green space needs to be dog friendly as the other recreation ground here doesn 't allow them!

Several people turned out and opinions seemed to be more positive than negative so it seems to only be a minority stirring up trouble against it. I suppose in general, people don't like change but, as they were saying, most people travel away from here to do their main shop and this would keep them from doing so.

I would certainly support it as it will be in walking distance, and, unlike the 2 convenience stores we currently have, they will stock my "free from" range, I couldn't even get Alpro custard to put on my bananas today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.