The Gazweasel Times

By gazweasel

Marriage

This stained glass window was made by either Gerhard Remsich or Everhard Rensig (what a brilliant name for a band) in around 1522. It shows Adam & Eve getting married by a guy with a beard who, one assumes, is God. I mean it would have to be given there were no other humans. Unless he was invented for the purpose then simply melted back into clay. I don't remember the marriage ceremony in the bible so I can't be sure.

I should point out that this is just a detail of the whole thing - Eve didn't actually carry Adam's head to the ceremony.

Given that it was the first one, I suppose God must have made the whole thing up on the spot. I'm guessing it all changed a bit for the next one because he could hardly have asked if anyone had a problem with them getting together. Unless there was a talking goat, of course.

Anyway, the little card doesn't mention what music was played. It does have them departing on their honeymoon in the lower half of the window...oh, wait, no, that's the expulsion from Eden. I guess it didn't work out.

Anyway, it's in the V&A and quite striking in that they're both blonde.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.